Continuing Education Requirements
Required CE Schedule Elective CE Schedule
Three ways to obtain Continuing Education Credits:
- Webinars (No Testing is Required) - Students must be on-time or will be considered No Shows to class. Time cannot be made up in other classes. It is recommended to login at least 10-15 minutes prior to the beginning time and test your computer before the day of class.
- NEW! Online Text-Based Courses (Quick, Easy, Informative)
Required Continuing Education Hours:
- All Agents and Adjusters are required to take a 5-hour Law & Ethics Update CE course every 2 years as part of the Continuing Education requirements.
- This couse must be specific to the type of license held.
- If the Agent or Adjuster holds two different license types, only one 5-hour course is required and can be specific to either one of the licenses.
- Any extra 5-hour Law & Ethics Update courses taken can be counted for Elective CE credit hours.
Elective Continuing Education Hours:
- Except as provided below, each licensee must also complete 19 hours of Elective continuing education courses every 2 years.
- Any course that has been approved for Continuing Education credits in Florida will qualify for Elective credits.
- These hours do not have to be license specific.
Repeating CE Courses:
- You may repeat a course as much as you wish, BUT you may not receive CE Credit in Florida if you repeat a course within 2 years from the original completion date.
- It is the student's responsibility to check their "My Profile" account to verify courses are not being repeated within this 2 year period.
- Licensee who has been licensed for 6 years or more must complete a minimum of 15 hours of elective continuing education every 2 years; for a total of 20 hours of CE credits.
- Licensee who has been licensed for 25 years or more and is a CLU or a CPCU or has a Bachelor of Science degree in risk management or insurance education of 18 or more semester hours in insurance-related course must complete a minimum of 5 hours of elecetive continuing education courses every 2 years; for a total of 10 hours of CE credits.
- Individuals licensed as a customer representative, limited customer representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown insurance agent, or an industrial fire insurance or burglary insurance agent and who is not a licensed life or health agent, must complet a minimum of 5 hours of continuing education courses every 2 years; for a total of 10 hours of CE credits.
- Excess hours accumulated during any 2 year compliance period may be carried forward to the next compliance period.
Florida Statute - 626.2815
Required Hours: Each licensee except a title insurance agent must complete a 5-hour update course every 2 years which is specific to the license held by the licensee. The course must be approved by the department and include the following subject areas: insurance law updates, ethics for insurance professionals, disciplinary trends and case studies, industry trends, premium discounts, determining suitability of products and services, and other similar insurance-related topics relevant to legally and ethically carrying out the responsibilities of the license granted. A licensee who holds multiple insurance licenses must complete an update course that is specific to at least one of the licenses held. Except as otherwise specified, any remaining required hours of continuing education are elective and may consist of any continuing education course approved by the department under this section.